• Info
  • Photos

Naked Raygun

Naked Raygun was founded in Chicago in 1980, by Marco Pezzati, Jeff Pezzati and Santiago Durango. During their eleven-year career, they released six albums that would change the sound of punk rock indefinitely.

Shortly after their first release, Basement Screams Durango left to join Big Black permanetly, and was replaced by John Haggerty, whose unique style of buzzsaw guitar would define Raygun’s sound for their next four albums. Additionally, Pierre Kezdy replaced Camilo Gonzalez and Eric Spicer took over drums for Jim Colao. In 1990, Haggerty left the band to start Pegboy. Bill Stephens joined the band for their final studio release entitled, Raygun...Naked Raygun.

Naked Raygun is widely recognized as being one of the most influential punk bands of the 80’s. Their anthemic style incorporated politics in a uniquely accessible way, melding pop and hardcore into one cohesive sound, that would later be dubbed, “The Chicago Sound”. In 1999, Quarterstick Records reissued the entire Naked Raygun catalog. Following a successful Chicago reunion show, Naked Raygun reunited in 2007.